Olympic Educational Service District 114

Serving the Kitsap and Olympic Peninsulas




Effective January 1, 1978, school districts became responsible for financing the unemployment benefits for their eligible employees.  In order to provide for group insurance and claims control, a cooperative was formed as a separate legal entity in accordance with Chapter 39.34.030 RCW.  Olympic ESD 114 is responsible to administer the cooperative on behalf of the member districts.


A cooperative advisory board consisting of the superintendent or designee of each member district was created.  The purpose of the board is to monitor the performance of the cooperative agreement, insure the cooperative is operated according to the By-Laws, and provide advice on matters relating to this agreement to Olympic ESD 114.  The Board approves the rate of assessment.


The rate of assessment for each calendar year is based on prior year actual cost, by district, expressed as a percentage of taxable wages.  The cooperative has contracted with the Talx Corporation to provide for claims management services.


The member districts are:


                        Olympic Educational Service District 114

            Cape Flattery School District 401

            Crescent School District 313

            Port Angeles School District 121

            Quillayute Valley School District 402

            Sequim School District 323

            Brinnon School District 46

            Chimacum School District 49

            Port Townsend School District 50

            Queets-Clearwater School District 20

            Quilcene School District 48

            Bremerton School District 100

            Central Kitsap School District 401

            North Kitsap School District 400

            North Mason School District 403

            Bainbridge Island School District 303


The Cooperative Advisory Board elects an Executive Advisory Committee who is responsible for establishing the by-laws of the cooperative, annually reviewing the pool reserve ratio, handling disputes, claims or grievances and other duties as may be assigned by the Cooperative Advisory Board.


The members of the Executive Advisory Committee are:

                        Paula Bailey                        North Mason

                        Kandy Ritter                        Cape Flattery

                        Monica Hunsaker               Central Kitsap